Still Around

27 09 2007

Yes I am still around. Have not really had time or the effort to post anything lately. Call it the Fall blues.

I spent last week in training. Nothing like a week off from work. The training was on Vista and Windows 2003 Server. I was hoping for more training on the Server 2003 then what we got but anything is better then nothing.

We spent basically half of the first day on Vista. We installed it and messed around a little bit and that was it. Of course we still had to use the laptops we installed it on so we got lots of exposure to it through out the week. It is really not a big difference from XP just a different look and some easier search options when trying to find different menus. I like the 3d windows the best out of everything. Of course after the 10th time the “mother may I” window popped up I was ready to throw it out the window. I went into the security settings and turned that off straight away.

The Server 2003 was basically how to install it, promote it to Domain controller and setup DHCP and DNS. Then we had to add the laptops to the Domain. It was all pretty much a review to me since I use to do that stuff in Windows 2000 and NT in my last job.

I will never complain about getting a week away from work and the latest we ever got out of class was 1530 but overall the class really had nothing to do with what I do. There was really nothing that I learned that I did not already know or could have figured out myself, such as how to install Vista. And since I do hardware support I don’t think I will have to setup a windows 2003 server any time soon but again any time away from work is time well worth it.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment